Tagged: North Korea

According to wholevehicles, North Korea is a country located in East Asia, bordered by China to the north, Russia to the northeast, and South Korea to the south. It has an area of 46,541 square miles and a population of around 25 million people as of 2020. The capital city is Pyongyang and it is known for its isolationism and totalitarian regime. The geography of North Korea consists mostly of mountains with some flat plains in between. The highest peak is Mount Paektu which stands at 9,000 feet tall. It has an abundance of natural resources including minerals such as coal and iron ore as well as forests which cover around 60% of the land area. Education in North Korea is highly structured and based on a curriculum developed by the state which emphasizes loyalty to the ruling party. Primary education (6-12 years old) is free and compulsory for children aged 6-12 but due to poverty many children remain out of school or drop out early to work for their families or pursue other activities such as begging or trading on street markets. Secondary school (13-18 years old) consists of two cycles: middle school (7th-9th grade) followed by high school (10th-12th grade). At this level students are required to take part in ideological training classes called ‘Kimilsungism’ which are designed to promote loyalty and obedience towards the ruling party. Tertiary level education includes universities offering degree programs across numerous disciplines such as engineering, medicine and business studies as well as private colleges providing courses ranging from certificates through to postgraduate degrees such as Masters or Doctorates. However, access to higher education is highly restricted by the state with only those deemed loyal enough being allowed entry into universities while those deemed hostile are denied access altogether. Check educationvv for North Korea Education and Training.

North Korea

North Korea Weather and Climate

According to COUNTRYAAH, North Korea is a State of East Asia (122,762 km²). Capital: Pyongyang. Administrative division: provinces (9), city (3), special district (1). Population: 25 490 965 residents (2017 estimate). Language: Korean. Religion: non-religious...